The fall hunting season is underway in Texas, so better time to make sure you have everything you need. Each year, game wardens issue hunters citations that could have been avoided had hunters simply taken more time to prepare for their hunt. With alligator, teal and dove hunting season on, and the rest on the way, let’s look at some ways to keep you hunting-violation-free.
The number one, most common hunting law violation in Texas is failure to be certified in hunter safety, which is is a Class C Parks and Wildlife misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of as much as $500. All of the most common citations issued by law enforcement are Class C Parks and Wildlife misdemeanors, again, punishable by a fine of up to $500.
The top ten wildlife enforcement violations during the Texas hunting seasons are as follows:
1. Hunter safety violation (no hunter education certification)
2. White-tailed deer harvest log not completed
3. White-tailed deer improperly tagged
4. White-tailed deer not tagged
5. White-tailed deer hunting or possession in closed season
6. Mourning dove hunting without a license or failure to produce
7. Mourning dove hunting with unplugged shotgun
8. White-tailed deer hunting without a license or failure to produce one
9. Mourning dove over daily bag limit
10. Public hunting land and other misc. violations
If you love Texas, you will LOVE this video!